Share This

The Senate is one of two houses in Congress.  Also known as the upper house, the Senate has 100 members because each state sends two Senators.  The Senate was meant to be a check on unrestricted democracy because each Senator serves six years, as opposed to House representatives who serve only two year terms, and because Senate elections are staggered.  The result is that there should always be a number of Senators with several years experience serving in government.  Among other things, as part of the system of checks and balances, the Senate has the power to ratify treaties and to confirm judicial appointments.

« Back to Glossary Index