Share This

When referring to the the government, branch means one part of the government.  The Constitution of the United States divides the federal government into three branches: the executive, legislative, and judicial branches.  States in the United States also divide their state government into these three branches.

The Constitution assigns each branch of government certain powers.

« Back to Glossary Index